Clark School Home UMD

ISR News Story

Ulukus, colleagues win Best Tutorial Paper Award

Professor Sennur Ulukus (ECE/ISR) and six international colleagues are the winners of the 2019 IEEE Communications Society Best Tutorial Paper Award for “Energy Harvesting Wireless Communications: A Review of Recent Advances.” The paper was published in the IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications, Vol. 33, Issue 3, pp. 360-381, January 2015.

Ulukus’ co-authors are Aylin Yener, professor of electrical engineering at the Pennsylvania State University; Elza Erkip, professor of electrical and computer engineering at the New York University Polytechnic School of Engineering, Brooklyn; Osvaldo Simeone, associate professor at the  Center for Wireless Communications and Signal Processing Research, New Jersey Institute of Technology, Newark; Michele Zorzi, Department of Information Engineering, University of Padova, Italy; Pulkit Grover, Assistant Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Carnegie Mellon University; and Kaibin Huang, Assistant Professor, Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, the University of Hong Kong.

The paper summarizes recent contributions in the broad area of energy harvesting wireless communications, providing the current state of the art for wireless networks composed of energy harvesting nodes, starting from the information-theoretic performance limits to transmission scheduling policies and resource allocation, medium access, and networking issues. The paper considers in detail the emerging related area of energy transfer for self-sustaining energy harvesting wireless networks, covering both energy cooperation aspects and simultaneous energy and information transfer. Various potential models with energy harvesting nodes at different network scales are reviewed, as well as models for energy consumption at the nodes.

The award will be presented at IEEE ICC 2019 in Shanghai, China on May 21.

Related Articles:
Alumna Jing Yang begins tenure-track position at Penn State
Sennur Ulukus named IEEE Fellow
Ulukus to investigate rechargable networks with energy cooperation
Ulukus is PI for NSF grant on energy harvesting wireless communication devices
Ye, Barg win IEEE Data Storage Best Paper Award
Best paper award for Bergbreiter, St. Pierre, Gosrich at Hilton Head workshop
Clark School names Hamid Jafarkhani 2017 IHOF Inductee
Coelho, Austin and Blackburn win best paper award at ICONS 2017
Work by Raghavan, Chen, Ljubic wins Best Paper Award
Richard La promoted to full professor

April 30, 2019

Prev   Next



Current Headlines

Shamma, colleagues publish in Journal of Neuroscience

Chellappa Chairs National Academy Workshop on Machine Learning

Khaligh, Rudnick-Cohen win 2019 ISR awards

Special Delivery

Welcome, NAE Members

Lockheed Martin Awards $3M to Clark School

NSF Awards $1M Grant to UMD Researchers

Ghodssi Receives Senior Faculty Outstanding Research Award

ISR remembers Carlos Berenstein

NIH Awards $2M to UMD Entomologist Megan Fritz

News Resources

Return to Newsroom

Search News

Archived News

Events Resources

Events Calendar