Clark School Home UMD
Return to Faculty Directory

Tits, André

André Tits
2271 A.V. Williams Building

Research Interests 

Numerical optimization; optimization-based system design and robust control with emphasis on numerical methods; FSQP software for nonlinear constrained optimization



André L. Tits was born in Verviers, Belgium on April 13, 1951. He received the `Ingénieur Civil' degree from the University of Liège, Belgium and the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from the University of California, Berkeley, all in Electrical Engineering, in 1974, 1979, and 1980, respectively.

Since 1981, Dr. Tits has been with the University of Maryland, College Park. Currently, he is a Professor of Electrical Engineering and he holds a permanent joint appointment with the Institute for Systems Research. He has held visiting positions at the University of California, Berkeley, at the Lund Institute of Technology, at INRIA, at the Catholic University of Louvain at Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium and at the Australian National University.

Dr. Tits received a 1985 NSF Presidential Young Investigator Award. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, and a member of the Mathematical Programming Society and of the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics.

From July 1998 to April 2005, Dr. Tits was the Editor for Technical Notes and Correspondence of the IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control. As of September 2005, he is the Editor for Rapid Publications of Automatica. He is also an associate editor of Operations Research, of Computational Optimization and Applications, and of Optimization and Engineering.

Honors and Awards 

Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers, 1998

Young faculty awards
NSF Principal Young Investigator, 1985

University of Maryland awards
Faculty Service Award, 2000

Related News 

Former postdoc Balakrishnan named Case Western dean of engineering
Venkataramanan Balakrishnan was a postdoctoral researcher with Professor Andre Tits from 1993-94. July 3, 2018

Four Honored at 6th Annual ECE Distinguished Alumni Awards
The ECE Department honored four alumni for their leadership and meritorious contributions to the field of engineering. June 2, 2017

Narayan, Zhou, Schlotfeldt, Strahan win ISR outstanding awards
ISR confers awards of excellence in its annual ceremony. September 13, 2016

FICO purchases alums' cyber risk startup
Mingyan Liu and Manish Karir lead QuadMetrics, which calculates a 'security risk' score for businesses. June 24, 2016

Khaligh is PI for hybrid energy storage system NSF GOALI grant
New lightweight system will offer increased battery life for electric cars. September 3, 2013

Sikorsky invests in ISR, Clark School research and students
Company active in research collaborations, student scholarships and fellowships. November 11, 2011

Sikorsky renews as ISR Strategic Partner
ISR faculty collaborating on control algorithms project. August 4, 2010

Martins, Somasundaram, Frazier win awards at ISR's annual ceremony
Congratulations to our outstanding faculty, graduate student and staff member! May 7, 2010

ISR organizing interdisciplinary student group
Group will give graduate students opportunity for camaraderie and learning. March 11, 2010

AndréTits, Dianne O'Leary receive new DoE optimization grant
The pair will continue their work in interior-point algorithms for optimization problems with many constraints. September 28, 2009

New DoE grant for AndréTits, Dianne O'Leary
Research team will develop advanced optimization techniques for entropy-based moment closures. September 16, 2009

Sikorsky renews as ISR strategic partner
ISR faculty collaborating on control algorithms project. June 24, 2009

Sikorsky is new ISR strategic partner
ISR faculty collaborating on control algorithms projects. October 24, 2008

Sasan Bakhtiari joins University of New South Wales faculty
ISR alumnus studied with Professor André Tits. August 6, 2008

RFSQP™ Version 1.0 (ISR IP)
This IP is available to license. June 18, 2007

FFSQP Version 3.5 (ISR IP)
This IP is available to license. June 15, 2007

CFSQP Version 2.3 (ISR IP)
This IP is available to license. June 15, 2007

FSQP Version 2.4 (ISR IP)
This IP is available to license. June 15, 2007

This IP is available to license. June 15, 2007

André Tits receives NSF grant for 'feasible point optimization methods for design'
August 2004—ISR professor will develop, analyze, implement, and test numerical algorithms to solve constrained optimization problems with a large number of inequality constraints. August 8, 2004

Undergrad Jennifer Roberts wins two prestigious awards
April 2004—Graduating senior wins both NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Award and Hertz Foundation award for upcoming graduate study. April 6, 2004