Research Funding

Title Faculty Funding Agency
NSF: Closed-Loop Sensing and Actuation for Gastrointestinal Capsule Systems Reza Ghodssi National Science Foundation
NSF: A High Level Synthesis Approach to Logic Obfuscation Ankur Srivastava National Science Foundation
USDA NIFA: Transforming shellfish farming with smart technology and management practices for sustainable production Miao Yu, Nikhil Chopra, Yiannis Aloimonos, Yang TaoMatthew Gray, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science, Chengchu Lin, UMD Extension Service, Matt Parker, UMD Senior Agent Associate AGNR-UME-Sea Grant Extension, Donald Webster, UMD Senior Agent AGNR-UME-Wye REC, Yuanwei Jin, University of Maryland Eastern Shore, Brian Callam, Louisiana State University, Bobbi Hudson, Pacific Shellfish Institute, Jonathan van Senten, Virginia Tech USDA National Institute of Food and Agriculture
Protecting University Communities from COVID-19 with Model-Based Risk Management Donald Milton, Hongjie Liu National Science Foundation
NSF: NeuroPacNet: Accelerating Research on Neuromorphic Perception, Action, and Cognition Cornelia Fermüller, Shihab Shamma, Behtash BabadiRalph Etienne-Cummings (JHU), Andreas Andreou (JHU) National Science Foundation
ARO: Human-Agent Teaming on Intelligence Tasks Adam PorterSusannah Paletz (iSchool/ARLIS) Army Research Office
NSF: Robust Network-Level Inference from Neuronal Data Underlying Behavior Behtash Babadi National Science Foundation
Understanding and Facilitating Remote Triage and Rehabilitation during Pandemics via Visual Based Patient Physiologic Sensing Min WuDonald Milton (School of Public Health), Chau-Wai Wong (alumnus, North Carolina State University), Simon Ho, University of Maryland School of Medicine National Science Foundation
BBI Seed Grant: Learning Age and Gender Adaptive Gait Motor Control-based Emotion Using Deep Neural Networks and Affective Modeling Dinesh ManochaAniket Bera (CS/UMIACS), Jae Kun Shim (Kinesiology, Bioengineering) UMD Brain and Behavior Initiative
AFOSR: Simulation Optimization: New Approaches to Gradient-based Search and Maximum Likelihood Estimation Michael Fu, Steve Marcus Air Force Office of Scientific Research
Discovery, Analysis, and Disruption of Illicit Narcotic Supply Networks S. Raghu RaghavanMargaret Bjarnadottir (Smith School), John Dickerson (CS), Siddharth Chandra (MSU), Galia Benitez (MSU) National Science Foundation
DoD-Intel State-of-the-Art Heterogeneous Integrated Packaging (SHIP) Prototype Project: Red Team, Chiplet IP Protection and Countermeasures for State-of-the-Art Heterogeneous Integrated Packaging (SHIP) Prototype Project Ankur Srivastava, Gang Qu Department of Defense (Navy), through Intel Corp.
DARPA-Intel: Structured Array Hardware for Automatically Realized Applications (SAHARA) project: Red Team Ankur Srivastava Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency through Intel Corp.
AFRL-Northrop Grumman: Locked Electronics for Assured Design (LEAD): Delay Locking ASIC IP Blocks to Protect Functionality Ankur Srivastava Department of Defense (AFRL), through Northrop Grumman
DARPA: Automated Implementation of Secure Silicon (AISS) Ankur Srivastava, Gang Qu, Adam Porter, William Regli DoD: Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency
DoE: Customized Lithium Batteries for Mission Applications Gary Rubloff Department of Energy (Sandia)
Advancing the science and development of solid state batteries Gary Rubloff, Eric Wachsman, Paul Albertus, Sang Bok Lee U.S.-Israel Energy Center
NEXTOR III: National Center of Excellence for Aviation Operations Research Michael O. Ball, David LovellGeorge Mason University, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, University of California, Berkeley, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, Georgia Institute of Technology, Ohio State University, Purdue University Federal Aviation Administration
DoE: Thin Film Platforms to Advance Scientific Frontiers in Solid State Energy Storage Gary Rubloff, Sang Bok Lee, A. Alec Talin, Paul Albertus Department of Energy
NIH-NIDCD: Spectro-Temporal Plasticity in Primary Auditory Cortex Shihab Shamma National Institutes of Health: National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders
AFRL; IAI, Inc.: EARN: Energy Aware Radio Networking for Energy Efficient Tactical Communications Sennur Ulukus Air Force Research Laboratory
ARO: Private Information Retrieval over Networks Sennur Ulukus Army Research Office
Title Faculty Funding Agency
NSF CIF: Reconstructing Multiple Sources by Spatial Sampling and Compression Prakash Narayan National Science Foundation
NIH BRAIN Initiative: Readout and control of spatiotemporal neuronal codes for behavior Behtash Babadi, Patrick Kanold, Wolfgang Losert National Institutes of Health BRAIN Initiative